Québec Engineering Competition

 From January 26th to 29th 2017, the Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) will be host to the Quebec Engineering Competition (QEC). The QEC is an annual event in which nearly 250 students from all Quebec engineering schools and faculties compete. Endorsed by the Quebec Confederation for Engineering Student Outreach (QCESO), the QEC aims to shine the spotlight on future engineers’ knowledge and social skills through many challenges over the course of four days.

2017 Theme

This year, the QEC’s theme is “St-Lawrence Engineering”. The St-Lawrence, this majestic river, gulf and estuary in the heart of the province of Quebec, is the cradle of our society. For years, it was the only way of communication and our sole link to the rest of the world. This privileged relation nourished, inspired and transported us.

LogoCQI2017_v1_english

Beyond the maritime aspects, this theme includes, amongst others, all the challenges linked to supplying coastal communities, the management of human impacts on the gulf and coastal engineering infrastructure. Every discipline of engineering will be involved and will allow students from every domain to stand out.

La Compétition québécoise d’ingénierie

Du 26 au 29 janvier 2017, l’Université du Québec à Rimouski sera l’hôte de la Compétition québécoise d’ingénierie (CQI). La CQI est une compétition qui regroupe 12 universités de la province et pas moins de 250 étudiants. Chapeautée par la Confédération pour le rayonnement étudiant en ingénierie du Québec (CRÉIQ), la CQI vise à faire rayonner le savoir-faire et le savoir-être des futurs ingénieurs grâce à des épreuves techniques.

 

Thématique 2017

Cette année, la CQI a pour thème «Génie du Saint-Laurent». Le Saint-Laurent, ce majestueux fleuve, estuaire et golfe au coeur du Québec, est le berceau de notre société. Longtemps, il fut la seule voie de communication et notre lien avec le reste du monde. Cette relation privilégiée nous a nourri, inspiré, transporté.

CQI-Génie du Saint-Laurent

Au-delà des aspects maritimes, ce thème englobe entre autres toutes les problématiques d’approvisionnement des communautés riveraines, de la gestion des impacts des activités humaines sur le fleuve et sur les ouvrages de génie côtier. Toutes les disciplines de l’ingénierie seront impliquées et cette CQI permettra aux étudiants de tous les domaines de se démarquer.